XAMPP Troubleshooting Apache won’t start


Configuring XAMPP for use in Windows

Issue #1 Apache server would not start.

Check for php.ini in the apache location below. For me it was missing php.ini file from drive:\xampp\apache\bin

Fix: #1 copy php.ini file from drive:\xampp\php and paste it in to the -> drive:\xampp\apache\bin

Issue #2 Localhost conguration of the XAMPP/Apache.

I did a port check it showed default port 80 was used by system (i.e. have IIS running) so http://localhost would not load the default xamp page instead it load the site I have in inetpub XAMPP Portc check

I use Tomcat (HTTP) port: 8080. In the above screen status shows it’s been used by a program. I am running XAMPP Apache hence its NOT free. if it’s not free and another program using that program shut it down (Skype is annoyance and often it’s skype).

If you have IIS running as well then you have to either

  1. Uninstall IIS
  2. Shut down IIS or
  3. Configure APACHE to use another port if you want to keep IIS running.

Fix1: Uninstall IIS

Programs > Windows features Turn on / Off > untick off Internet Information Systems >save

Fix2: Shutdown IIS

Right click and run cmd (windows command line) as an administrator and use the following commands

iisrest /stop

windows may restart IIS each time you turn n computer so you may have to run this command.

please make note of the following commands to restart IIS
iisrset /restart
iisreset /start

Fix3: Configure APACHE to use another port if you want IIS running at the same time

Configure the httpd.conf file located in the location below installation location drive: \xampp\apache\conf Locate following in the file #Listen 0.0.0.0:80 #Listen [::]:80 Listen 80 and ServerName localhost:80 change these to #Listen 0.0.0.0:8080 #Listen [::]:8080 Listen 8080 and ServerName localhost:8080 and save to get it all working make sure your URLs are as below.

Update: Video tutorial

I found this video Youtube (credits: GSNTube5)

I see alot of views on this page. I hope this is working for you. Please comment whether this worked for you or not. It would help others.

41 thoughts on “XAMPP Troubleshooting Apache won’t start

  1. of course like your web site but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very troublesome to tell the reality on the other hand I will certainly come back again.

  2. Brilliant thank you very much… this happened inexplicably after coming back from holiday – thanks Skype.

  3. I recently installed skype, I have also recently installed dropbox. And now when I click “start” in the xampp control panel for apache and mysql I see “running” for about 5 seconds then nothing and not found on localhost pages. I tried both of your fixes, but no luck so far.
    Thanks,
    John

  4. “netstat -aon” showed me that something was listening through “System” on port 80, preventing Apache from starting. I believe a number of processes can do that. For me it was “Web Deployment Agent Service”, which is related to Webmatrix.

  5. Fix #2 got Apache to go from doing nothing to display that it’s “Running”. But still getting 404 error in the browser. The page is showing the url requested as 127.0.0.1:80 Any ideas. Thanks for getting me this far!

    • Do you have any files in the host folder?
      File you are trying to access is not there…

      Try putting index.html/default.html file(with some text) in the folder? Just to test?

      • Sheepishly: I forgot to include :8080 in the URL. Good to go now. Thanks again for taking the time to populate and manage such a useful blog!

  6. [CENSORED]

    WTF ebonics is this shit. below, below, above. You need a fucking sideways here to

    Check for php.ini in the apache location below. For me it was missing php.ini file installation location drive: \xampp\apache\bin Fix: #1 copy php.ini file from the location below and paste it in to the location above. installation location drive: \xampp\php

    The mind is a terrible thing to waste.

  7. Ahh!! I just figured my issue out. Apache needs port 80 and 443. I had some odd program I never approved of running port 443!! So I deleted that program and now it works fine. So make sure to check port 443 and port 80! :D

      • I loved it! :D I can’t wait to get my blog up and running on my own server. This would have been a great tool to have a few years ago.. If only I would have known it existed. :P

  8. I was tried to installed the XAMpp but not able to install Apache how can install Apache in my computer

    • Ermmm XAMPP install APACH there should be a folder in xampp called apache?

      Then you need to use xampp control panel to start the server

      I would recommend that you download xampp for windows zip version.
      Extract it to where ever you want it and that’s it.

      I hope it helps?

    • Ermmm XAMPP install APACH there should be a folder in xampp called apache?

      Then you need to use xampp control panel to start the server

      I would recommend that you download xampp for windows zip version.
      Extract it to where ever you want it and that’s it.

      I hope it helps?

  9. I fall into Issue #2. Guess what? the only problem is the Skype. Well, thanks for sharing. Not it is fixed after few hours of reinstalling. Keep on posting.

  10. when i click start appache server it doesnt work it doesnt give any information why it doesentw ork i dont know where to start looking for the problem

  11. Ran ‘netstat -aon’ as discussed earlier and found that port 443 was being used by PID 3352 which I then discovered was VMWare Workstation Server. Now it works.

  12. hi
    i replaced the port 80 with 8080 but thexampp still tries to connect to port 80……what can be the problem?thanks !!!!!

  13. I have in the past run Xampp on Windows with success but on my Win7 machine I am trying to stick with IIS as it is Windows native server! It is quite difficult to understand fully with a shortage of good posts/info about it (I’m currently wrangling with it to try & get WordPress on IIS localhost to autoupdate but no success yet).Thanks for your interesting post.

  14. This did not solve my problem. There was no php.ini in my xampp\apache\bin, but even after I copied the file over, I still get the same error message. I do not see anything except “System” using port 80 (and that is with an IP address of 0.0.0.0). I don’t have IIS running, don’t even know what it is. I also saw that Skype can cause issues, so I made sure Skype is NOT running. What else might use port 80 as “System”?

  15. Just FYI, I found the solution within minutes at another site: just change the port from 80 to another number. You open httpd.conf in your xampp\apache folder (the most recent version of XAMPP as of October 4, 2012 has a button you can click called “Config” and then you click on httpd.conf from there and it will automatically open in WordPad). Then search for “Listen 80″ and change the 80 to some other port that is not being used. I used 85, but if you that doesn’t work, try running a command module (type “cmd” in your Windows Start button search bar and hit enter….type ‘netstat -a -no’ and see what ports are not being used (anything listed is being used). Change the number in the Listen line in httpd.conf, save, and try running Apache again. It should work like a charm, unless of course you’re missing your php.ini file, in which case the OP here will help you resolve that problem.

  16. I may have a Fix #4 :
    Set Apache as an automatic windows service (Svc checkbox in the XAMPP Control Panel). Once it is set as a service, restart windows before you can start apache. Once windows has restarted , Apache should start normaly (it worked for me ^^)

    The reason is because Windows 7 has a service called http.sys which starts automatically and uses port 80. Running Apache as an automatic service causes apache to start before the http.sys service. This allows apache to get port 80 before http.sys starts.

  17. I tried to change the port ni the httpd.conf file but in the xammp control panel, it still displays “Apache started [Port 80]“, and it wont start

Leave a Reply

